Sounds Are Active/Asthmatic Kitty Sampler (AS001)

Sounds Are Active and sister label Asthmatic Kitty have pooled their collective talents to put something beautiful into the world: the 2004 Sampler. Over over 74 minutes of music from these two unceasingly original record labels. The Asthmatic Kitty “Side” features songs from Sufjan Stevens’ first three albums, as well as three tracks from the unrelentingly joyous Half-Handed Cloud. Songs by Liz Janes, Castanets and Viva Voce round out the 11 tracks- 3 heretofore unreleased.

The Sounds Are Active “Side” teems with spastic new work from Melk The G6-49, Bizzart and Deneir. New and unreleased tracks from Soul-Junk, Vla Hemia and Create (!). Softer pieces contributed by Xn. (featuring a slick remix from hip-hop producer supreme Omid) and the brooding “Two Planes for Elliott Smith” by the Constantine/Levin/Phillips/Schlarb/Shadduck quintet.

Track Listing
Asthmatic Kitty Side
01. Sufjan Stevens – All Good Naysayers, Speak Up! Or Forever Hold Your Peace!
02. Half-Handed Cloud – Let’s Build A Planet
03. Viva Voce – Red D-Lish
04. Liz Janes – Guitar Guitar
05. Castanets – I’ll Be Just Where You Are
06. Sufjan Stevens – Happy Birthday
07. Half-Handed Cloud – Pressing Into It
08. Liz Janes – Vine
09. Viva Voce – Welcome Mat
10. Half-Handed Cloud – Here’s A List
11. Sufjan Stevens – Year of the Tiger
Sounds Are Active Side
12. Deneir – Random Object Subject
13. Patagonian – Hands in the Face of Time
14. Xn. – gone home early (Omid Remix)
15. Vla Hemia – Break Loose
16. Soul-Junk – Nova (Evig Poesi Remix)
17. Bizzart – Pink Summer in Hell
18. Melk the G6-49 – Henry
19. Create(!) – Three Butterflies, Seven Mockingbirds
20. Constantine/Levin/Phillips/Schlarb/Shadduck – Two Planes for Elliot Smith

“Proving that sisterhood is powerful, sibling labels Sounds Are Active and Asthmatic Kitty cram a grab bag of sounds- everything from hip-hop to free jazz to folky weirdness- onto one sampler. The Sounds Are Active half buzzes with new tracks from Soul-Junk, Bizzart, Vla Hemia and others.”- XLR8R


Write a review

You must be logged in to post a comment.